General Discussion If it's Baja Related but Don't Know Where? Post it Here...

Old 07-02-12, 02:12 AM   #1
Jester

Jester is on a distinguished road

Default Ensenada vs Guadalajara vs ??

Hi guys,

Newbie here, and as you might have guessed...
I have a question!

Which is better for a writer who likes living in a cool town and wants great internet for VOIP and websurfing - Lake Chapala or Ensenada? Or somewhere else?

If need be I am open to anywhere in Baja Norte (except Mexicali, too hot) or anywhere else in Mexico not too hot or too expensive.

Background:
I need to live "in town", within walking distance of
-- a coffeehouse for morning coffee
-- a tienda that sells leche frija
-- a gym
-- a place I can share an office with a desk with internet. (Could also work at home, but then instead of a 150 peso motel room or the equivalent, I'm going to need a small house in with good ventilation ( or a luxury condo). If I work at home I always hire a housekeeper to come in the mornings.

Ideally I would rent month-to-month, but I can sign a lease if not exorbitant. would sign a lease for U.S. $300 is okay, or even $500 depending on what I get... or I would pay as much as $800 to $1000 if in a neat house or condo in a neat setting or in-town, that could double as an office and had a garage so I could drive down in my 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee. If renting a $300 room with no AC and no garage I would forget the car of course. (But even with a car in the garage, I don't want to drive it every day, I want to live in a town or village.)

Btw I came down for a couple of test visits, one driving and one on train, buses and cabs.
My impressions:

--Zona Centro in TJ was fun to see but got tired of aggressive merchants. Liked my US$15 hotel room on the third floor, next to the coffeehouse.

--Rest of TJ is okay, but too much like L.A. - beautiful mansions with no yards, or else slums. Not friendly enough to suit me. Everyone is there for the money, like LA or NY.