Introduce Yourself to the Forum A good place to "dip your toe in the pool". Let the other forums know your connection/interest in Baja...

Old 02-02-13, 12:14 PM   #1
Frostback

Frostback is on a distinguished road

Default Dipping Our Toes

Newbie poster here, currently living in Kamloops, BC and considering the move to Baja.
Our family has visited Los Cabos a couple of times and we feel that is a good fit for us to try a
couple of months there this summer. We are looking to rent a house or condo, but would also consider a house sitting opportunity. If anyone knows a good contact for these types of service, please let me know.
I am a contractor, my wife is a Spanish teacher at the university, and we have 2 boys (6&8).
We have lived in Cuernavaca but find it over developed and we really want to live close to the ocean. If anyone has thoughts on the best places with vibrant community spirit, great schools, abundance of organic foods, affordable marina...etc, I am very interested in doing the upfront research to make our 2 month trial an easy sell for the entire family to stay on make this our home.
Peace and thank you for reading my post.
Old 02-02-13, 02:09 PM   #2
Woooosh

Woooosh is on a distinguished road

Default Re: Dipping Our Toes

You'll find plenty of resources here. Good luck on your family adventure in Baja Sur.
Old 02-02-13, 06:10 PM   #3
beachbum

beachbum is on a distinguished road

Are you planning on enrolling your kids in school in Baja Sur?
Old 02-02-13, 06:19 PM   #4
Frostback

We are definitely considering school options... any ideas?
Old 02-02-13, 06:36 PM   #5
DENNIS

DENNIS is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frostback
We are definitely considering school options... any ideas?
Do your kids speak the lingo? I believe the schools will test for that.
Do you plan on using your contractor skills for profit?
Anyway....welcome to TalkBaja and good luck in your quest for the perfect world. Keep us posted on your progress.