Off-Grid / Solar, Wind or Generator? When the power lines don't quite reach that far...

Old 12-13-09, 09:29 PM   #1
BajaGringo

BajaGringo is on a distinguished road

Default Using an RV generator for home use?

I have a Yamaha 6600DE generator I had thought about using to hook up to our electrical panel for power. Currently I have it on wheels and it is a great generator for use around the house during construction and projects - it has never let me down. I also have a 7.5 KW Kohler RV generator I could pull out and hook up to the house and leave the Yamaha free for moving around and outside projects.

I was curious if any of you had installed an RV generator for home use and would be willing to share their experiences / advice / ideas?

Old 12-14-09, 08:12 AM   #2
BigWooo

BigWooo is on a distinguished road

Default Re: Using an RV generator for home use?

I'm no expert by any means but...

I think you can just connect the hot and neutral from your generator to the main breaker's hot and neutral input lugs, then branch off from the individual breakers to your outlets and lights. I believe a transfer switch is only for homes that are connected to city power. It keeps the generator from back feeding power into the grid. Since you don't have power, it's probably unnecessary

You will need to provide a good ground though. Inside the main breaker there will be a neutral buss bar and a ground buss bar. The neutral buss will have white wires that go to your individual circuits connected to it. The ground buss will have all the (sometimes green) or bare copper ground wires to all your individual circuits connected to it. Now of course this is Mexico and the wires could be any color, mine were all black, with some stereo wire thrown in

The wires leaving the bottom or side (depending on how they're mounted) of the individual breakers (should be black) are the hot wires that branch off to the individual circuits.