Introduce Yourself to the Forum A good place to "dip your toe in the pool". Let the other forums know your connection/interest in Baja...

Old 03-24-11, 04:52 PM   #1
el payaso

el payaso is on a distinguished road

Default Hola a todos!

Noob here, longtime lurker on Nomads (never posted there cuz, never having been to Baja, figure I don’t have much intelligent to contribute*)(also, I still have all my limbs intact and fear getting em bitten off in that shark pool.... ;- )). I post a lot on the San Carlos forum under Barato. Eventually hope to snowbird it in BCS, currently 3.5 yrs from la jubilacion, but for now wife and i go to Sonora (Kino to San Carlos) as I live in west TX and would rather spend the extra 2 days of my limited govt-employee vacation hours fishing than driving.

Fell in love with Mexico years ago and spend lots of time there; by camping out of back of the Taco de Pescado and living like a panguero, I can fish for 5 days for less net $ than the fish I bring back would cost at store. Gifts for Mexican friends are usually the biggest cost of my trip.... Nothing like solo trips to Mexico and camping with the pangueros to improve your Spanish! And it’s amazing how karma works overtime in Mexico....the kids I’ve befriended at the fish camps have turned out to be great campsite security and have saved my outboard from some ratones on one occasion.

Currently doing the Baja Catch plan out of the 12' portabote but I don’t feel comfortable taking it out more than 7-8 miles so I’m working on two bigger tin boats with the idea of eventually leaving one down there. I do sustainable fishing, through being so incompetent at it that the fish are mainly at risk from dying laughing....there IS a reason the main fishing boat is getting a red clown nose and Eye of Horus. In fact biggest thing I’ve ever caught there wasn’t even a fish but a 4' Humboldt.